Quick Search

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) is located in the south-eastern region of New South Wales. Canberra is the ACT’s capital city as well as Australia’s federal capital. Architect Walter Burley Griffin designed the city in the early 1900s, and it has many impressive buildings housing government and national centres. Parliament House is the city's focal point. It is open for viewing by the public so you can take the opportunity to observe Australian politics in action and appreciate the Australian art that is featured throughout the building. Old Parliament House was home to Australia's Federal Parliament for more than 60 years until the move to the new location in 1988. Today, this much-loved heritage building offers visitors a unique glimpse into Australia's past.

Visit Canberra's major ceremonial avenue, Anzac Parade, which has 11 memorial sites dedicated to the many Australian and New Zealand soldiers who lost their lives in war. The avenue is easily recognisable from the Mt Ainslie lookout. The stirring Australian War Memorial is located at the northern end of the Parade.

The Snowy Mountains are located within two hours drive of Canberra and offer a range of outdoor activities including skiing, hiking, mountain biking, snowboarding and horse riding. The beautiful coastline of New South Wales is also an easy drive away, along with the bigger city offerings of Sydney. As well as the major federal government departments, Canberra is home to significant cultural centres such as the National Gallery of Australia, which has the largest collection of modern art in the Southern Hemisphere. There is also the National Library and the Australian Film and Television Archives, which shows the history of Australia's film, television and radio industries, dating from 1890. The National Science and Technology Centre, Questacon, is also based in Canberra and is Australia’s leading interactive science and technology centre.

Back to top